[Skip to Content]
Award for Fiction 2023

Established by the American Society of Magazine Editors in 2018 to celebrate the historic link between literary fiction and magazine journalism, this award honors magazines and websites for overall excellence in the publication of fiction. Judges will give special weight to formally or thematically adventurous work. An entry consists of three examples of short fiction written by one or more authors, published together or separately. Any publication edited and distributed in print or online in the United States is eligible for entry. The ASME Award for Fiction is judged and presented in conjunction with the National Magazine Awards.

Download the Call for Entries

Publications may submit only one entry. Print and digital editions of the same publication may not submit entries separately. Entries may be submitted as print or digital content or as a combination of print and digital content. Content must be dated 2022 except that one story may be dated January 2023 or an equivalent, such as Winter 2023. Finalists will receive certificates of recognition. The winner receives a medal bearing the likeness of Alexander Calder’s “Elephant Walking,” the symbol of the National Magazine Awards, and will be honored at the annual presentation of the awards on Tuesday, March 28, 2023, at Terminal 5 in Manhattan.

How to Submit an Entry ASME Award for Fiction 2023 entries must be submitted online at asmeawards.org. Entrants are advised to visit the website before preparing submissions.

Entries containing content originally published in print must be submitted as PDFs (the submission of print issues is not required or permitted). PDFs should be converted to a single file in correct page order before uploading. Advertisements should not be included. Pages in editorial spreads should be shown together. Low-resolution files are preferred.

Entries containing digital content require the submission of web links or app-specific instructions, including usernames and passwords. Entries submitted by publications that fail to include usernames and passwords enabling judges to access digital content free of charge may be deemed ineligible.

Entry fee for ASME members: $75. Entry fee for nonmembers: $150
Entry Deadline: 9:00 p.m. EST on Thursday, December 8, 2022

For more information, email asme@asme.media or call 212.872.3737
To apply for ASME membership, visit asme.media/membership

ASME Awards 2022 Winners Announced: Read the Press Release